Leave a comment

Break Me Off A Piece Of That Nostalgia

I was never much for one to consume a lot of chocolate unless it takes the form of a cup of soy Ovaltine. However, in the spirit of Halloween, I decided to break me off a piece of a Kit Kat bar even though the candy was supposed to be passed out to trick or treaters. Coincidently, as I was eating a bar, a commercial for Kit Kat starts playing. It would be scary to imagine if this was actually intentional on the advertiser’s part — as if they were able to target me through my television and air specific commercials according to what I was eating or doing. What a scary yet aggressive way to enforce brand loyalty with the mere exposure of the brand. It’s kind of like Facebook ads!

As I was eating the candy and watching it’s commercial, I began to admire the creative strategy they used to advertise the product. It’s the classic JINGLE, of course! I love their creative twist on covering the song through sounds of crunching and breaking off a piece of the candy. It ties everything back to their slogan and it’s still nostalgic even with the new cover. I actually had fragmented flashbacks of my adolescent self eating the candy which made the experience now taste a little more appetizing.

Here’s a trip down memory lane.

Leave a Reply

